Pac-10 Football: Ducks, Luck and Paea Headline All-Conference Teams

In the last year of a 10-team conference, Pac-10 coaches got together and named their all-conference selections on Tuesday.

Not much of a surprise, the undefeated Oregon Ducks and Orange Bowl-bound Stanford Cardinal dominated the first and second teams.

For the second straight year, Chip Kelly was named the conference coach of the year, beating out Stanford’s Jim Harbaugh.

In a battle of Heisman finalists, Cardinal quarterback Andrew Luck was the named the Pac-10 offensive player of the year over Oregon running back LaMichael James.

Possibly the most impressive defensive tackle in the conference since Haloti Ngata, Oregon State senior Stephen Paea was selected by coaches as the Pat Tillman defensive player of the year.

Wide receiver Robert Woods of USC was tabbed the offensive freshman of the year, and Sun Devil defensive end Junior Onyeali took home the conference defensive freshman player of the year honor.

Here is a look at the first and second team selections, as well as a few side notes.


First Team Offense

Quarterback: Andrew Luck, sophomore, Stanford

Running Backs: LaMichael James, sophomore, Oregon; Jacquizz Rodgers, junior, Oregon State; Owen Marecic, senior, Stanford

Wide Receivers: Jeffrey Maehl, senior, Oregon; Juron Criner, junior, Arizona

Tight End: David Paulson, junior, Oregon

Offensive Line: Chase Beeler, senior, Stanford; David DeCastro, junior, Stanford; Jonathan Martin, junior, Stanford; Jordan Holmes, senior, Oregon; Tyron Smith, junior, USC


First Team Defense

Defensive Line: Stephen Paea, senior, Oregon State; Jurrell Casey, junior, USC; Cameron Jordan, senior, California; Brooks Reed, senior, Arizona

Linebackers: Mason Foster, senior, Washington; Casey Matthews, senior, Oregon; Akeem Ayers, junior, UCLA

Defensive Backs: Omar Bolden, junior, Arizona State; Chris Conte, senior, California; Rahim Moore, junior, UCLA; Talmadge Jackson III, senior, Oregon


First Team Special Teams

Placekicker: Nate Whitaker, senior, Stanford

Punter: Bryan Anger, junior, California

Kickoff Returner: Robert Woods, freshman, USC

Punt Returner: Cliff Harris, sophomore, Oregon

Special Teams Coverage: Chike Amajoyi, senior, Stanford


Second Team Offense

Quarterback: Darron Thomas, sophomore, Oregon

Running Backs: Johnathan Franklin, sophomore, UCLA; Shane Vereen, junior, California; Chris Polk, sophomore, Washington

Wide Receivers: Doug Baldwin, senior, Stanford; Jermaine Kearse, junior, Washington

Tight End: Coby Fleener, senior, Stanford

Offensive Line: Colin Baxter, senior, Arizona; Adam Grant, senior, Arizona; Alex Linnenkohl, senior, Oregon State; Mitchell Schwartz, junior, California; Bo Thran, senior, Oregon


Second Team Defense

Defensive Line: Ricky Elmore, senior, Arizona; Sione Fua, senior, Stanford; Brandon Bair, senior, Oregon; Kenny Rowe, senior, Oregon

Linebackers: Vontaze Burfict, sophomore, Arizona State; Mike Mohamed, senior, California; Mychal Kendricks, junior, California

Defensive Backs: Cliff Harris, sophomore, Oregon; Delano Howell, junior, Stanford; T.J. McDonald, sophomore, USC, Nate Williams, senior, Washington


Second Team Special Teams

Placekicker: Kai Forbath, senior, UCLA

Punter: Jeff Locke, sophomore, UCLA

Kickoff Returner: Omar Bolden, junior, Arizona State

Punt Returner: Ronald Johnson, senior, USC

Special Teams Coverage: Bryson Littlejohn, senior, Oregon


Oregon placed seven players on the first team and six on the second team. The Cardinal tied the Ducks with seven on the first team and added four players on the second team.

Despite tying for the conference lead with five interceptions, Oregon’s Cliff Harris and John Boyett failed to make the first team.

Washington State was noticeably absent with zero selections to either squad. Cougar freshman wide receiver Marquess Wilson was second in the Pac-10 with 1,006 yards receiving on the year.

Stanford running back Stepfan Taylor rushed for 1,023 yards and scored 15 touchdowns on the season. His 15 rushing touchdowns ranked second in the conference to James.

A preseason Heisman finalist, Washington quarterback Jake Locker finished the season ranked eighth in the conference with a 127.4 quarterback rating.


~ by philip d. on December 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: